The Book Geek

Summer Reading List: Book #2 – Midnighters: Touching Darkness by Scott Westerfeld, The Full Review

Posted on: April 29, 2008

So I finally finished the book after lots of surfing and eating in between(don’t blame me, blame my mom!)

Just thirty-seven chapters? I was expecting 39! OK, I’m getting too Dan Brown-ish on this, apologies. Thirteen is beginning to grow on me, you know those long words you have no idea what they mean because you just skimmed through the entire Oxford dictionary during sixth grade for the reading level test that you aced(my reading level last last year was 9.9 I believe and last year it was 11.. hoping for a thirteen this year…!). Ok, I’m going off topic, apologies once again.

That old midnighter was unexpected, seriously. When she was introduced I was like “Who is she?” and then it turned out that she was one of them. My gosh! I thought it was cleared up in the first book that all the midnighters prior to them(which means more or less 50 years prior..) vanished all at once? I salute Scott Westerfeld once again.

A halfling? Whoa. I never thought of that. I mean, half darkling half human? It kinda creeps me out but I’m wondering if they look like regular humans, since it was stated that they were the connection between the darklings and their human ‘servants’ or whatever you call them. I wanna know.. NOW! *does some research*

All that snooping around behind their parents’ backs is starting to make me really curious. Nah, I would never do that to my parents, they’re too nice for that. Seriously, but when my grades go down just a bit, they freak. On me.

Scott Westerfeld makes me want to be writer even more, even if I don’t really have any good ideas in my head right now(OK, maybe I can give it some time..) and I’m not really sure if I write well. When I read my own stuff, I think it’s crap and it’s rushed and you get the point. Which is why I never, ever re-read what I write, unless it’s for revisions sake.

I’ve never liked history, mainly because my mom loves it and my godfather’s the Japanese history expert here in the Philippines. Oh, and because of the fact that when I was in elementary school, my teachers condensed over 500 years of presidents, invaders, governor-generals, heroes, traitors, and events in one semester a year for five horrible years(the other semester was geography, which wasn’t as bad). I may start liking history because of this series, just wait until I’ve read ‘Blue Noon’.

Next step, BLUE NOON! I really, really NEED it. Seriously. 

3 Responses to "Summer Reading List: Book #2 – Midnighters: Touching Darkness by Scott Westerfeld, The Full Review"

What do you mean you can’t write? You’re writing your blog and you have a nice “voice.” The best writers write what they want to read. So maybe someday you’ll have a Midnighters or something similar come out of you. You have a nice blog. Keep up the good work.

ahhh i knoww the book wuzz greatt writee i wrotee all the 13-letter wordss from all 3 books inn myy note bookkkkkk

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 7,580 hits
