The Book Geek

Summer Reading List: Book #1 – Midnighters: The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfeld, The Full Review

Posted on: April 27, 2008

 

The first book in the Midnighters series has not failed to impress, Scott Westerfeld has once again created a timeless masterpiece. The book is pretty much everything Scott Westerfeld is a writer, he fused fantasy with real life, he made this story believable yet still with that element that will keep you at the edge of your seat, waiting for the next thing to happen, and he does it in 297 pages.

I love how he puts in the tiniest of details, like thirteen-letter words and what those darklings actually look like, how he makes fantasy real, even if it’s just for the time you’re reading the book. He makes his readers imagine with those small details, it’s like you can see the place in your mind and yet you know he’s holding something back for the later parts. 

The amount of thought he put into this book must’ve been overwhelming. While I was reading the book, I was wondering how he thought of all those thirteen-letter words because there were some of them that I never even knew had thirteen letters, most probably because I don’t really count how many letters there are in a word or phrase.

The over-all concept of midnight freezing for an hour and letting all these darklings come out still amazes me. What if it was true? What if people who were born at the stroke of midnight were really able to see things other people can’t?

That’s another thing I love about Scott Westerfeld, it’s so realistic that it makes you wonder if it could be true, if the city in ‘Uglies’ could really exist and if in the future, you were really made pretty when you turned sixteen, if the vampires in ‘Peeps’ really do exist in the sewerage and if the things in ‘So Yesterday’ could actually happen.

The end of the book makes you want more, it makes you want more at that very moment. It keeps you on your toes, waiting until you can get your hands on the next book and I can’t wait myself. I’ll be getting the sequel within this week, if not, I’m gonna go crazy, seriously.

All in all, this book is a masterpiece, it’s every Scott Westerfeld fan’s dream and most of all, all three books are already out and available at my local bookstore, so there’s no more waiting for the next book, I just get it and read. Done deal.

 

11 Responses to "Summer Reading List: Book #1 – Midnighters: The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfeld, The Full Review"

I love when the rain freezes. I can see it so clearly in my mind’s eye.

Who is on the cover??
It looks so much like Kristen Stewart!

I was impressed by the details as well. The 13 letter words were a nice touch – I never would have thought of that. I also loved the storyline – and the characters were engaging as well. The magic and rules gave me a great read!

This was my first foray into young adult books in a long time and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed the series. I may have to read Peeps and Uglies, just because Scott Westerfeld wrote them and I enjoyed his Midnighters series so much.

ahhh i lovee da 13-letter wordssssss and all ugliess bookss and peeps iss myy favv bookk in the worldddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd besides twilight of coursee anddd ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh the picturee does look sorta like kristen if u think about it hehe

midnighters are awsome i’ve read them all *puts book down*

I want to read this book! but i cant find it!! lol

Yeah, it does look like Kristen Stewart. Is it her?

nice 🙂 -OMG facts

i love the story its so epic. i read the first book and i just cant wait to get the second book im so excited. i have always hated reading but the second i started to read this book i was hooked. this is the best book in the world.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 7,581 hits
